Dear Families, By the time this email arrives we hope that the vast majority of you will have received a phone call from one of our Senior Leadership Team members.

 

 

Dear Families,

 

By the time this email arrives we hope that the vast majority of you will have received a phone call from one of our Senior Leadership Team members.  At the very outset we would like to thank you once again for your co-operation and understanding in this very difficult time and with such short notice. We really do appreciate it, and our decisions and actions are motivated by our commitment to keeping everyone at home and at school as safe as possible. We are aware that there are limited hospital resources around the country, as emphasised by the Prime Minister, and we do not want to do anything to put any of our students, families or staff into a heightened risk situation.

 

Whilst it is very important for everyone to know that the school will continue to remain open in a limited way, we would like you to be aware that it was with a very heavy heart that we made the decision to revert to online learning, therapy and evening support, as we know about the additional pressure this places on all families.

 

Following last night’s advice from the Government, and the information available on the current situation, we have carefully reconsidered our current practices and risk assessment. Despite our experience over the past year, we are uncertain of how to best contain the virus, as this is a new highly transmittable strain, and we feel we have exhausted all the safety measures we could put in place within the school and residential environments. As a result of this the most effective course of action now is to offer as full an online timetable of lessons, key-working, therapy and evening activities as possible.

 

It is our intention to start the online timetable on Thursday morning and we will be providing more details of how this will look and work tomorrow, and please know that we will use all the helpful feedback we received from you and the boys after the lockdown to inform how we organise our online offer this time round.

 

If you have any questions about the timetable or curriculum/exam related issues please contact Andy Sears on asears@swalcliffepark.co.uk

If you have any questions about Speech and Language Therapy or Independence please contact Sarah James on sjames@swalcliffepark.co.uk

If you have any questions about Clinical Psychology or Occupational Therapy please contact Dr Nikki Mills on nmills@swalcliffepark.co.uk

If you have any questions about residential provision please contact Tracey Cummings on tcummings@swalcliffepark.co.uk

If you have any questions about KS3 or ‘transition into school’ meetings please contact Chris Heslip on cheslip@swalcliffepark.co.uk

 

We will also be continuing our free school meal support for families whose boys are at home and who have registered with the school. If you think you might be eligible and haven’t yet registered please contact Rob Piner to do so.

 

As in previous terms, we intend to maintain our Annual Review schedule with meetings taking place on Microsoft Teams.  If you have any questions about school attendance, Annual Review meetings or free school meals support please contact on Rob Piner on rpiner@swalcliffepark.co.uk or Rob Leigh on rleigh@swalcliffepark.co.uk

 

We will be sending out regular briefing updates to all families via email, the website and the school’s Facebook page, but if you do have any questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

With best wishes and thanks

Kiran, Rob and Rob